All Universal Schools Closed Until Further Notice

Governor Wolf announced that all schools will remain closed until further notice as they work to mitigate the spread of COVID-19 and protect the health of all Pennsylvanians. Thank you for your patience through these uncertain and constantly evolving circumstances.

 

Please read the most recent letter from Dr. Penny Nixon

Grab-and-go meal sites continue to operate for our students. Updated locations and times are HERE.

K-12 Remote Learning Packets continue to be available on each Universal School's site. It is our hope that all students in the City of Philadelphia will engage in learning activities during this very difficult time. 

Find your school HERE or more activities HERE.

Please visit the Coronavirus Information Hub often for the most up-to-date information, as it becomes available.
Thank you for flexibility and understanding during this difficult time. Please stay safe.

Universal Alcorn Middle Years Academy

Learn About Universal Alcorn Middle Years Academy

Welcome to Universal Alcorn Middle Years Academy

alcornmiddleyears

Universal Alcorn Middle Years Academy

1319 South 26th Street

Philadelphia, PA 19146

Phone: (215) 952-8595

Fax: (2150 952-8561

School Leadership

Principal: Sheila Mallory

About Universal Alcorn Middle Years Academy

Our mission is to provide our scholars with a safe environment that promotes respect and motivates students to learn and to act responsibly. Our primary goal is to educate, empower and enable all scholars to become caring, contributing citizens who can succeed in our ever-changing world. We are committed to focusing on high student achievement, individual academic success, to each scholar for the rigor of high school, college and career readiness. We believe education is the shared responsibility of the student, home, school and community.

Connecting Parents and Schools to Increase Achievement

We encourage you to participate in one of the many opportunities such as the Home and School Association, School Advisory Councils (SAC) and/or volunteer as a teacher assistant/aide, food pantry worker, or just read to our preschoolers.

For more information, contact the Universal Alcorn Middle Years Academy at (215) 952-8595.

School Links

  • 2017-18 Comprehensive Plan

  • 2017-2018 Child Find Policy

  • Board Policy & Procedures for Public Comment

  • Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP)

  • Special Education Annual Public Notice

  • Alcorn Elementary Activities

  • Kindergarten Registration

School Staff

Staff MemberEmail AddressSubjectGrade
Audrey Russellarussell@universalcompanies.orgLiterary/Science6
Renee Thomasrthomas@universalcompanies.orgMath/Science6
Debra Colesdcoles@universalcompanies.orgIntervention/Math Literacy7/8
Victoria Wylie vwylie@universalcompanies.orgLiteracy7/8
Lisa Chen lchen@universalcompanies.orgMath7/8
Lorenzo Haywardlhayward@universalcompanies.orgMath/Science6/7/8
Stacy Hill shill@universalcompanies.orgSocial Studies/Literacy6/7/8
Doreen Bennett dbennett@universalcompanies.orgLearning Support6/7/8
Shakira Wimberly swimberly@universalcompanies.orgLearning Support6/7/8
Tiffany Whitebread twhitebread@universalcompanies.orgPhysical Ed/Health6/7/8
Brittney Hudson bhudson@universalcompanies.orgCounselor6/7/8
Janis Miller Office Manager
Charles Abel Parent Liason
Lisa Waddell-Maples Classroom Assistant
Laverne Hall Climate Specialist
Wanda Allen Climate Specialist
Samuel Colson Climate Specialist
Irvin Wright Climate Specialist

Meeting Minutes

  • 9.18.18

  • 10.16.18

  • 12.18.18

  • 1.15.18